April 13, 2021


Biographies & Vacancies Hub

12 States in Nigeria That Practices Sharia System of Justice

1 min read

Just by looking at the map of Nigeria we can see that Nigeria is almost evenly split between a predominantly Christian south and a predominantly Muslim north.

There are 12 States in northern Nigeria where the Sharia system of justice is being practiced.

The Sharia system in these states takes care of both civil and criminal matters involving Muslims.

Only Muslims can be tried in Sharia courts in these states.

The 12 states in Nigeria where the Sharia system of Justice is being practiced are:

  • Zamfara
  • Kano
  • Sokoto
  • Katsina
  • Bauchi
  • Borno
  • Jigawa
  • Kebbi
  • Yobe
  • Kaduna
  • Niger
  • Gombe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may have missed